Each year Speech Pathology Australia conducts its Book of the Year Awards to recognise and celebrate Australia's best books for children's language and literacy development.

A dedicated panel of experienced speech pathologists reviewed more than 300 entries nominated by each of the more than 300 entries received for this year’s awards and came up with this exemplary collection that are “must reads” for young Australians, broken into four age categories.

The Book of the Year Winners are announced in November.

Age Category: Birth to Three

Age Category: Three to Five

Age Category: Five to Eight

Age Category: Eight to Ten